703.591.9829

Our staff is standing by to help you. Click to chat.



Customer Service Rating by LivePerson




Ben's Blog

General

Virginia Lawyers Weekly » Verdicts & Settlements

View All

Why Would Cyberlink Technologies - Webopts be making these cold calls

Breaking New: March 5, 2009 -- No, these people do not work for Foster Web Marketing.. However, to get around your gatekeeper, some of the calls are apparently representing that they are working for FWM.

On March 4, 2009, representatives of Cyber Link Technologies and Webopts began "cold calling" clients of web developer, Foster Web Marketing.

Messages were left at law firm clients of Foster Web Marketing (FWM) that FWM was "cheating" on Google and that they wanted "you to be aware of it."

Calls were made on behalf of this company by at least four individuals. They appear to be going straight down the Foster Web Marketing client list

"Tim Fellows"
Phone: 858-625-1474


and

Jim Fuetterer 858-568-3103


and

Melissa Packard

Phone (858) 568-1218


and

"Clarence Ford" 858-568-1171.


Several Foster Web Marketing clients invited "Melissa" to join a three way call with Foster, and she declined.

I'm inviting her: Call me at the office, lets set up a three way with you, Tom and me. (Heck, let's get your CEO on the call as well.

Tom Foster has actually exposed what he says are "black hat" techniques that WebOpt is using. I'm not an expert so you will have to judge for yourself.. Here's Tom's info and you should take the time to look at what he says and the investigation he has done.

Here is the message left by Clarence Ford at one firm:

Clarence Ford with Cyber link called regarding the Foster web Marketing that you are currently using, he has very important information regarding that to give you, please call him at 858-568-1171.

The message that Melissa Packard left at at least one law firm was that her "CEO asked her to call."

Here is an email later sent my "Melissa" to a Foster Web Marketing client

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me today. If you go to Google and search "black hat ops", "link farming", or "pay per blogging" you will be able to get a little more information about exactly what Foster Web Marketing has been doing and how they've been doing it. I don't have a real tight grip on this myself, however I do know that by Google's standards, it is illegal and anyone tied in with this marketing company will be penalized. Unfortunately, once this happens, Google basically "sand boxes" your site and it is dramatically devalued causing you to lose your rankings. This link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Link_farm will tell you about link farming and how it affects you. Unfortunately, this is not the first time we have seen this happen and many attorneys have lost all the money they had out into their web design and advertising. As I said, we can keep this from happening before it goes into effect. I'm not exactly sure how Google goes about this, but I do know that Mr. Foster was submitted today you will probably see your site begin to slip sooner than later. However, once it does happen there won't be anything that our company or any other SEO company can do about it; you will end up having to redesign a whole new website which takes time and money. We don't want you to have to do that. If you do have time before next Wednesday, please give me a call so we can get things worked out for you or at the very least point you in the right direction so you don't lose all the money you've invested.
Highest Regards,

Melissa Packard
mpackard@cyberlinktechnologies.com
www.webopts.com
858-568-1218
858-505-8000
858-505-8042 Fax

OK, full disclosure--I am a raving fan of Foster Web Marketing and a long time client.

But lets look at this:

First, I invite you to visit the Wikipedia link that Melissa provided in her email. Its a decent summary of so-called "black hat" tactics. I've spent many hours over the 10 years or so that I've been a client of Foster Web Marketing to understand exactly why they are so successful.

Here's a Secret, Melissa, its the tools that Foster Web Marketing provides attorneys, in its proprietary DSS system, that make Foster's clients so successful. Its the coaching that they do to teach lawyers how to effectivly, ethically and legally use their websites to market themselves.

That's the main difference between Foster Web Marketing and most other website providers - search engine optimizers. While others rely on building a pretty site and hoping folks will come, FWM clients learn how to use the internet.

Its got nothing to do with link farms or "pay per blog."

Second, I invite you to visit the Webopts website.

Here's what you'll notice:

1. A Google Page Rank of 3 for Webopts.com.a web optimization company? Maybe its because they have about 15 pages of content on their site. Or look at their other site, http://www.cyberlinktechnologies.com it has a Google page rank of 2 !!!

2. Check out the testimonials for Webopts.com. Its interesting. Track down some of them. They don't appear to be current. In other words, when you actually go to the sites mentioned they don't appear to be current clients (some of them). Better yet, go visit the "testimonials" at the Cyberlink Technologies site .. click on the link for Miller and Associates and see where it takes you. Careless?? (Site visited March 5, 2009.) Or check out this rather bizarre page at their site .. click on those links and see if they make any sense at all.

3. Check out the ethics page for WebOpts it's interesting.

You should check out your web developer. In addition to my article on what you must demand from your web developer you've got to ask yourself, what responsible web developer would be cold calling a list of their competition's clients to give them the "news" that their web developer is "cheating?"

Bottom line: investigate any one who cold calls you and the first words out of their mouths are "your current vendor is cheating you!"

Here's Foster's Response to all of this.




Bookmark and Share

Contact Ben Glass Privately

Remember, we set up this "send Ben Glass an email" form for your convenience. This form does not make you a client of BenGlassLaw. Ben is licensed in Virginia and the District of Columbia only. While we'll keep what you tell us secret, remember that we can only give specific legal advice once you become a client of the firm. This is done written agreement only.
First Name *
Last Name *
Phone *
Email *
Your Message